Image

Pop Goes the World

I’m launching a new project in September and right now I’m starting to test some of the concept work that will go with it. Obviously this comic has some problems. I think I might be moving away from Sharpies because of the lack of quality in this cartoon. I will try again tomorrow, if it is still weak, then Ill be going to a different pen.

These are not the lyrics for the song “Pop Goes the World” by Men Without Hats. I like that song a lot, but I wanted to riff off the song a little to tell a story, so I’ve made some changes.

9 thoughts on “Pop Goes the World

  1. Dear Ogre, try Inkscape http://inkscape.org/ for drawing. It’s a free Open Source vector graphics editor. Ideal for drawing cartoons and exporting the result to .png. I’m sure you will love it!
    There are plenty of online tutorials, as well as the official online manuals, to get you up and running with the basics.

    • I have a number of cartoons drawn with Microns. My favorite is https://ourprocess.wordpress.com/2012/07/24/happy-pioneer-day/

      I like micron pens, but their action is not as nice as a Sharpie. I like the Micron 08 and 05 the most. But when I’m drawing, I sometimes draw faster than the pen can lay down ink and so line quality suffers. I draw a little fast for sharpies, too. Sometimes the lines get a little raggedy looking.

      Regarding dip pens, I have used them and have a nice set. I’ve also used a brush. The problem I have with a brush or dip pens is I’m not patient enough.

      I guess maybe one of the things I need to work on is discipline. Slowing myself down when I’m doing line work. Thanks for your help, you’ve a good eye.

  2. I actually really like the Sharpies and the effect of them here, think it’s great. 🙂 (Here comes the English teacher part: I think there’s a typo – apomb should be ‘aplomb’. Am I right?)

    Really like it – good luck with the project, looking forward to seeing it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

