Image

A Bully? (13/29 Faces)

(Sharpie & PSe)

10 thoughts on “A Bully? (13/29 Faces)

  1. All very disturbing, to be sure. But even more disturbing is how many Mitts there seem to be! Maybe the next cartoon can be a multi-headed hydra Mitt. 😉

    • So true.

      As a sub, I deal with the bully issue every day. Middle-school students are the worst. They bully each other incessantly and fixate on bullying far more than high-school kids.

      The hydra of bullying is that much of this negative behavior is learned at homes where kids are indoctrinated by what a family feels is “legitimate.”

      • I guess part of it is also cultural. In a society that values “getting ahead” more than anything, too small a premium is placed on kindness and standing up for others. It’s usually a minority of kids bullying or being bullied – and then a majority standing by and doing nothing!

      • It’s easy to agree with you, but research shows almost every kid feels bullied at one point or another, even the jerks.

        I remember when I first moved to Utah from Oklahoma. I was bullied in Oklahoma because I was mormon and in Utah because I was poor. When I stood up for myself against the clique of students who picked on me at Provo High School, I was called into the office for bullying students that didn’t get good grades. My dad trained me and my brother to never just “take it” and to “stand up for myself,” but by doing so other students felt like I was pushing them around.

        Assertive behavior is part of our culture. When does assertive behavior become aggressive behavior? Perception. Perception is everything to the person who feels they are being bullied.

        The problem is that schools are not equipped to detect all the kids who are about to do something horrible like kill themselves because they perceive the entire student-body of a school is out to get them when this is often not the case.

        I am not excusing Romney. He was a bully, but I bet he felt bullied at school, too. Prep-schools are notorious for bullying. A Japanese proverb is that the exposed nail gets hammered-down. Every kid (adults, too) are over exposed in one way or another. Society then comes along and hammers at that exposed characteristic until either the victim commits character-suicide (complies with social-norms), commits social-suicide (complete withdrawal from society) or commits physical suicide.

        Mitt is a mormon. Every mormon not living in Utah (and sometimes even there) experiences bullying because mormonism is an unknown. I am sure Mitt bullied another to try to fit in so he in turn could avoid being bullied where he was exposed.

    • What Obama has done is often hard to fathom. The fear after living through one very questionable president is getting one that is worse. That is the question and fear independents have.

  2. I suppose it’s true that most kids feel bullied, a la the “exposed nail” concept, though I guess we’ll never really know why Romney did it. It could be that he felt threatened as an outsider, but there could have been other reasons. As you implied, there’s a fine line between excusing bully behavior and understanding it, and I don’t feel like I know enough about the situation (thanks, mainstream media!) to make a judgment. I still think one of the more disturbing parts of the whole cycle is how complicit both children and adults can be when they witness abusive behavior towards others. It’s an age-old predicament, of course: “First they came for the communists, and I didn’t speak out because I wasn’t a communist…” etc., etc. Anyway, your cartoon is clearly very thought-provoking!

    • Thank you. Bullying is so complicated. THe media makes it out to be a very simple issue when in truth it is not. Babu, thank you for the great conversation and for stopping by. Cheers! 😉

Leave a Reply

