Catholic Feminists

(Sharpies & PSe)

I read an article in the Huffington Post about the recent Nun v Catholic Church Hierarchy spat. Now, I’m not a Catholic (though I’m sure many of my ancestors were), so I’m not going to criticize the Catholic Church. This is a cartoon about Sister Oceane who lived directly upstairs from the mormon missionaries in Uijongbu, South Korea. I would often run into her on the subway. She was always accompanied by a Korean nun. Sister Oceane’s Korean was marvelous, but her round French accent when she spoke Korean made the locals stare as if they were looking at a martian.

In case your are wondering, we got along fantastically. I hope when and if ever I go back to South Korea, I’ll see her again.

Leave a Reply

