Substitute Teaching: Assembly (CUE 1.05)

(Sharpie & PS)Today is Dr. Suess’ birthday. The workers were really excited about it. They talked about it all day. For me, Dr. Suess represents my first adventures in reading and drawing. I loved reading The Cat in the Hat and Bartholomew and the Ooblek. I also drew the Cat in his top hat quite often. As soon as we knew we were going to have kids, we wanted to get good books for them and lots of drawing paper and so we bought every Dr. Suess book we could get.

The same is true for many of the workers at CUE. To get ready for the event, we asked everyone to wear green. Almost everyone did. I wore my MASH t-shirt. AE, one of my favorite team members, was so excited. She giggled and laughed, but at the same time she stayed focused on our goal: keep using our indoor voice. TC was sad. He didn’t have any green clothes. When he arrived at his group home, he only had a pair of pants. The supervisor of the group home brought a bunch of hand-me-downs, but nothing green. TC was afraid he wouldn’t be able eat any of the big treat: Green Eggs and Spam.

After lunch, one of the other supervisors read Dr. Suess’ classic Green Eggs and Ham. Everyone laughed, giggled, cheered and clapped. They reminded me of when my kids were in kindergarten and first grade. We read the books at night and they would read them on their own. Even CC, my former gangbanger, loved it. The snack, green eggs and spam, was his idea. The table was surrounded by growling stomachs and drool. When we served the food, everyone was surprised that the eggs still tasted like eggs even if they looked like funny.

5 thoughts on “Substitute Teaching: Assembly (CUE 1.05)

Leave a Reply

