The Naked City

While I was typing up my substitute teaching blog entry I was eating dinner and watching Naked City. Talk about chewing gum and walking at the same time. The Naked City is a great old movie starring one of my favorite actors: Barry Fitzgerald.

Movies are not made that way anymore and often for good reason. The editing is not so good, but still better than the Maltese Falcon one of the best movies of this era. Editing is one of the greatest advances in modern cinema, but simple classy acting is gone. A guy like Barry Fitzgerald wouldn’t make it today. There so many good lines in the movie. My favorite is “There are eight million stories in the naked city and this has been just one of them.” Movies are no longer turning on good lines or good dialogue. Sure some of the acting was overdone, but the movie still had the gritty, urban feel I love. It was shot on location and showed some of the great and pathetic sights of Post-war New York.

My favorite place in New York is the Brooklyn Bridge. Watching Willy Garza climb up to the top and then fall through the center of one of the towers was great. A lot of people don’t even know you can walk across the bridge. Yes, many do, but I’m not a New Yorker. Most of my family has never even been there except for occasional visits in our youth. I saw the bridge once from a hotel window near Fort Hamilton when my family had flown state-side from my dad’s army posting in Germany.

What a great movie. I’m glad I looked it up on Netflix.

2 thoughts on “The Naked City

  1. I was born and raised in Brooklyn and it’s great to hear that you appreciate the Brooklyn Bridge. (I haven’t lived there for about 20 years.) It is a GREAT bridge. Although I lived in Brooklyn, I used to work in Manhattan. During the summer, instead of taking the subway home, my wife and I would walk across the bridge.

    Thanks for the memories!

    • You bet. i love the bridge. In means more to me than than most other American architecture and I think an argument can be made that few other structures mean as much to any city as the Brooklyn Bridge does for New York.

Leave a Reply

