Substitute Teaching: US History (LPHS 1)

After teaching special-ed and middle school since New Years, I forgot how nice high school can be regardless of the snottiness of tenth graders. I taught only two sections. The regular teacher felt guilty about calling in sick, so he came back for third and forth period. Good for him, bad for me.

It didn’t matter anyway since I was only there to add backbone to a student teacher. Student teachers are required to have another adult present, but that rule is silly since they generally have more training as an educator and crowd control than do subs. He took care of business and taught the class about the beginning of the American Revolution, Boston Massacre, Boston Tea Party, the superiority of the British Navy and George Washington’s early losses.

I sat back and kept my mouth closed except in first period when a group of boys decided to huddle in a corner with their hoods pulled up, backs turned, ignoring the student teacher. Yeah. I didn’t go for it. They told me I couldn’t tell them what to do. Boy, did they find out differently. I had a female student write their names down for me and I told them I would send the list to counselor’s office if they didn’t start showing the proper respect to the student teacher. Their bluff being called, they took their seats and participated in the class (one gave me the finger as he left when the bell rang–I thanked him for coming).

The student teacher was surprised. He said those boys pulled the same thing with the regular teacher all the time and nothing could get them to turn around. He said these guys were a clique of student-athletes who claim some sort of privilege. Whatever. I was a jock (and member of the physics, debate, chess, architecture and dungeons & dragons clubs) starting on the football team and wrestling team and would not have dreamed of pulling this kind of crap.

2 thoughts on “Substitute Teaching: US History (LPHS 1)

Leave a Reply

