Dr. Leonard “Bones” McCoy

Leonard-Bones-McCoy-Star-Trek-Portrait

A Portrait Study

The Ogre is a pizza delivery monkey. He's finally come up with a webcomic concept he likes and is finally making a go of it. The Ogre loves many things and hates few, however he has issues with almost everything (mostly because he has issues--he's started having acne around and on his nose and sitting place again). The Ogre is forty-somethin' flippy years old for goodness sakes and is loosing his mind.

Tagged with: , , ,
Posted in Art, Portraits, Sci-Fi, Science Fiction
18 comments on “Dr. Leonard “Bones” McCoy
  1. Lynn says:

    Dammit Jim, I’m a doctor not a head model!

  2. Raven says:

    McCoy was always my favourite. :)

    • He was the perfect foil for Spock. As a tandem, they are my favorite pair in all popular media. Hard sarcasm paired with over the top reactionary emotion. These two and Kirk are what made the original Star Trek the best televised science fiction of all time.

  3. marcsart says:

    ur really hitting your sweet spot now…. keep it up you’re on a roll!!!!

  4. Ray Kelly says:

    Beautiful Illustration!

  5. I absolutely love this one too! I simply loved ‘Bones’! I was sad to hear of his passing and that of ‘Scotty’s’.

  6. I also agree with your comment on television and how mediocre the shows have become. I cannot tell you the last time I sat down and watched tv. In fact, I hardly know what is on these days. I miss all the old shows. They had such depth, what this newfangled mess lacks! Sigh…! The good ole days Aaron! I miss em!

    • I do, too. The only time I watch tv is when one of my roommates watches “Big Bang Theory” and thin I only watch for a few minutes. Otherwise I watch movies and old tv on Netflix.

  7. I nicknamed a neighbor’s dog McCoy. His short, quick little barks were just like McCoy abruptly snapping at Spock :-)

  8. Absolutely Spock and ‘Bones’ were the perfect foil for each other. Spocks’ logic and ‘Bone’s passion and when they collided, oh wow! I remember a couple episodes when Captain Kirk would intervene and say, “gentlemen, gentlemen.” It was hilarious! Oh gosh! Those shows wil never grow old. Oh Aaron, you’ve simply got to do one of Uhura. Remember her and Captain Kirk enjoyed the first ‘interracial kiss’ and those who were behind the scenes were reluctant to show it, but it got shown anyway. A first! What I loved about the original Star Trek is that it set a precedent for people of ALL ethnicities or from different planets, getting along on one ship. Their missions were peaceful and not meant to hurt or decimate another race of beings on any other planet. For that particular era, they really stepped out of the comfort zone and took on the issues of the day. The minds behind that show are to be commended for “boldly going where no man had gone before!”

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,461 other followers

