Space: Expect Dreams

This political cartoon was drawn with a Fine Point Sharpie, a Chisel Tip Sharpie, lettered with a Micron no. 8 Pen & colored, panel boarders were drawn with a black Tombow ABT Brush Pen and edited in PhotoShop Elements.

Space exploration is one of my favorite topics. I love it, but I feel that the nation has politicized it when it possibly is our greatest hope. I blame this on Republicans and Democrats. NASA has been stripped to nearly nothing. If NASA operated with 10% of the defense budget, we would have colonies on the moon.

I have bench mark issues on how I judge candidates and this is one of the big ones.

This comic is also my submission to Illustration Friday.

The Ogre is a pizza delivery monkey. He's finally come up with a webcomic concept he likes and is finally making a go of it. The Ogre loves many things and hates few, however he has issues with almost everything (mostly because he has issues--he's started having acne around and on his nose and sitting place again). The Ogre is forty-somethin' flippy years old for goodness sakes and is loosing his mind.

Tagged with: , , , , , , ,
Posted in Webcomics
20 comments on “Space: Expect Dreams
  1. Ian T. says:

    So true! I love the integrated way you’ve used space, your limited colour scheme, the way it flows for the hugeness of the Universe, to the bedroom of one person – a sublime poem comic! My only minor criticism (and I hope you won’t mind) is that I think you misspelt “Neil”. I also did a comic for this topic.

  2. galaxybureau says:

    Reblogged this on galaxybureau.

  3. Casey says:

    Oh my word, this is beautiful and heartbreaking. I really wanted to be an astronaut when I was little and seeing us just give up on space is a tough pill to swallow. Great job – I really like your linework, and the composition (love those stars/planets/celestial whatevers there!)

  4. Raven says:

    It’s a whole ‘race to the bottom’ thing, I think. The rich can get endlessly richer on our backs if they convince us that we shouldn’t have dreams. It’s also one reason that commercial space travel bothers me. Then its only million dollar space rides for the rich, where if it’s a public thing, then its space for the ppl by the ppl. I sound like such a space hippy :/

    • I actually agree. I’m glad that Branson and his rich buddies are going to space, but once they have got space figured out, only the people who go up will be the ones just like them. Sounds just a little too elitist with them running the show.

  5. Reblogged this on Ohm Sweet Ohm and commented:
    Here is the work of another talented young man.

  6. robinhood63 says:

    I’m still waiting for my practical, affordable jet-pack!!!
    As for shooting the some of the (criminally) rich into space, hey, there could be an upside.
    Thanks for the like. I was hoping you would like it.
    I’ve been making more ‘Munro was here’ pics. As long as it cheeses off my teabagger relatives off I will continue to do so. Or until I get bored with it. :)

  7. Thanks for the like(s). I really like how you broke the panel up into a lot of pieces.

    • Thank you very much, I appreciate it. I do like you comics. The first time I saw you comic was the last one about the upcoming dome on the library. Post more often. I like what you’re doing.

  8. towera says:

    Hi Aaron, thanks for your like on my blog yesterday, I’ve enjoyed browsing yours too! I especially like this comic – the scale of what you say and what you have drawn is so nicely paced as the eye moves down the page. I’ll be back to visit soon!

  9. johndmelton says:

    Beautiful color work and layout of the panels on this… Really cool :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,490 other followers

