Provo Post High School II part 2

The picture above comes from Becca, the student who started to scream during Tarzan yesterday. She gave it to me and told me it was for my mom. I thought it looked like a person, but she corrected how I was holding it to the current orientation.

In our class there were very few problems (I stopped Eric from pulling pages out of a thesaurus and he tried to pinch me), but the other class had a fight today. Martine, a very high functioning autistic man has this thing for poking other students. Tyler has down syndrome and is a complete pacifist, until today. Martine had been poking Tyler and Tyler had protested, but when the teachers were distracted, Tyler punched Martine and knocked him down.

I really feel bad. Both of these guys are pretty innocent, but at the same time the teachers are glad Tyler finally stood up for himself. Martine is a bit of a bully. Both of them had to see the principal to have behavioral contracts written and in Martine’s case, have all his privileges revoked as this is just one of many fights he has been in. When I saw Tyler in the parking lot, he was still crying. I hope when he gets home, his dad gives him a big hug and lets him know how awesome he was for finally defending himself. The teachers said, he and Martine have been classmates together from preschool until now and that Tyler had never once fought back.

In my class, it was very calm. One of the students, Jesus, has become quite attached to me and won’t do anything unless I sit next to him or go with him. Which is hard, because I had to take care of Ty, the wheelchair bound student. Jesus was distracted the entire day, but he was never a problem. My biggest problem is that he drools and wants to hug all the time which I can’t do a substitute (I’m not supposed to even touch them).

The Ogre is a pizza delivery monkey. He's finally come up with a webcomic concept he likes and is finally making a go of it. The Ogre loves many things and hates few, however he has issues with almost everything (mostly because he has issues--he's started having acne around and on his nose and sitting place again). The Ogre is forty-somethin' flippy years old for goodness sakes and is loosing his mind.

Tagged with: , , , , , , ,
Posted in Substitute Teaching
8 comments on “Provo Post High School II part 2
  1. Takes a special person to work with these special students. And it’s sad that teachers can no longer innocently hug a student. I understand why, but it’s sad that our society reached that stage.

    • Aaron the Ogre says:

      I know, I look at regular special-ed teachers with amazement. They are really awesome. Regarding the hugging, I’m with you: I hate it, but know why it’s necessary.

  2. [...] Our Process | Provo Post High School II part 2:  The author is a substitute teacher who also has a gift of drawing. This specific post is one in a [...]

  3. Just wanted to let you know that I have chosen you as a recipient of The Versatile Blogger Award. Congratulations! You deserve it!!! http://motleynews.net/2012/02/05/the-versatile-blogger-award/

    • Aaron the Ogre says:

      Michelle: Thanks. I am much honored (much being better than very). It means a lot.

      • You deserve it. And you do something I would never be able to do and that is work with these special needs children. I would break down and cry every day – even though I know most of them do not realize they are different and are not looking for sympathy. I just would not be able to help myself. I have a cousin who has pretty severe Downs Syndrome, and she chatters on like a monkey in a tree as happy as can be every day.

      • Aaron the Ogre says:

        I love the Downs kids (I say kids even though most of the people I know with Downs-Syndrome are adults). There is a guy at church who works at UVU as a janitor. On his days off, he rides the UTA and talks to the drivers dressed in different costumes he bought. Army Men. Cowboys. Football players. Train engineers. He is seriously one of the happiest and most interesting guys I know.

        Thanks again Michelle. You are great.

      • Not that I’ve been around many Down’s people, but everyone I have ever met is always happy. I understand that is a normal trait. There’s something there to be learned.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,451 other followers

